Tag: Dee Cunniffee

Latest stories

  • , , ,

    Redneck Puts an East Texas Spin on Vampire Mythos

    Vampires have come a long way since John Polidori’s The Vampyre in 1819. Popular culture has since seen creepy vampires, sexy vampires, and even high school teen angst-y vampires (in both buff and sparkly categories). In Redneck #1, Donny Cates takes the standard set of vampire mythos and applies them to a redneck family in East Texas.

    Redneck #1
    Redneck #1

    The Bowmans run the local BBQ in a small East Texas town called Sulphur Springs. Secretly a clutch of vampires, the family survives on cow’s blood and mostly keeps to themselves. Father Landry and his brood are the only other family in Sulphur Springs that suspects the Bowmans’ true nature.

    Bad Blood Tends to Beget Bad Blood

    The Landrys and Bowmans have literally been at each other’s throats for generations. It’s been pretty quiet for a spell, but the tension is building. A couple of drunk kids out on the town is about all it would take to start an all out war.

    “It’s a story about a family’s quest to turn themselves into more than the monsters they’ve always been. To find a little peace in a world that hates them,” says Cates of his new series in an exclusive interview with TFAW. “It ain’t gonna be easy. And it’s sure as hell gonna be bloody. But it might just be the best time you’ve ever had reading a book about vampires!”

    Image Comics is seeing the payoff after going to the well again with Cates. He smashed it with God Country and is riding that success into another promising series. Fans of God Country, Harrow County, vampire lore, and horror comics will definitely want to get in on this series.

    THE FEUD CONTINUES. PRE-ORDER REDNECK #2 AND REDNECK #3

    Redneck #1, Image Comics, Release Date April 19, 2017, Written by Donny Cates, Art by Lisandro Estherren and Dee Cunniffe, Letters by Joe Sabino, $3.99

    Please follow and like us: