Buffy Survives Another Year

Happy Birthday Buffy Summers!

Happy Birthday Buffy Summers!

Destiny has decided that Slayers typically have a short life expectancy, but today marks the character Buffy Summers’ actual birthday. To celebrate, we want to get you caught up on what’s she’s been up to for the last 3 seasons of the comic with some quick recaps so you can still jump on board Season 11 while it’s hot.

Season 8

Starting out a year after the conclusion of the show (Season 7), we see a lot has changed for our favorite Slayer. At the end of the show, all potential Slayers have the power of The Slayer. Now, with the help of Colonel Xander (cause the eye patch), there’s an entire slayer army handling threats across the globe. Of course, not everyone views them as superheroes. The US government along with some past villains (Amy and Warren) team up to try and take them down. All the while, a new threat, Twilight (not the shiny one) looms in the background using Riley, Buffy’s old boyfriend, as a spy.


Throughout all the madness, the Scooby gang meets an old friend in Tibet (Oz), encounter an old enemy (Harmony), we catch up with what’s happening with Dawn, Xander, Willow, Faith, and Giles, and learn more about all our new slayers. All of this leads up to the final two story arcs where it’s revealed that Twilight is in fact Angel under some kind of magical compulsion that was causing him to be a little extra super villainy. Spike arrives to try and save the day, but during the conflict, Twilight kills Giles. The only way to defeat Twilight is by banishing magic from the universe, which they do. Now all the witches no longer have access to their power, the Slayers still have their powers, but with all the insanity happening, it causes the group to break up. Faith works to rehabilitate Angel, and the rest of the Scooby’s move out to San Francisco for a new start.

Season 9

This season of Buffy takes place over two different books, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Angel & Faith. Buffy’s book follows the adventures of the main Scooby Gang, while Angel & Faith follows both of those characters working to tame their personal demons.

The gang finds themselves trying as hard as they can to live a normal life. Buffy has two roommates that have nothing to do with the craziness in her life, Xander and Dawn are trying to make an honest go of their relationship, and Spike leaves on his spaceship, cause that’s a thing that he does now. It’s not long before trouble finds them like a magnet, though. Dawn is slowly dying from the absence of magic, Willow finds a new way to tap into magic, Xander kind of betrays the group, and so much more is packed into 25 issues, that you’re really owing it to yourself to give it a read.

Over in Angel & Faith, after the death of Giles, Faith inherits his London home where she and Angel work to better themselves. This leads them down a path of searching for the remains of Giles’ soul, which is scattered throughout the world. Of course, many people are not happy with what Angel did while possessed by Twilight, so he’s hunted at almost every turn. Along the way, he also reunites with old friends like Gunn, Willow, and his son Connor. The team is eventually able to revive Giles’, only now he’s in the body of a kid. An orb of magical energy is released over London from this season’s big bad, which causes that area to be magically awakened again. With a new hub of magic in the world again, which the dub Magic town, Angel & Faith dedicate themselves to protecting it.


Season 10

Season 10 is once again divided into the same two titles, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel & Faith. Buffy’s book focuses once again on the Scooby gang, where Angel & Faith focuses on what’s happening in London’s Magic Town.

Buffy’s book reunites us with a lot of characters we’ve lost over the years. Andrew resurrects Tara, Xander hangs out with his old master Dracula, little kid Giles makes a return to the group, Harmony shows up again, this time with an army, Wolfram & Hart along with Lilah Morgan return, Dawn and Xander go to Hell, our new big bad, D’Hoffryn, has his sights on killing all the members of the Magic Council. Jonathan returns to haunt Andrew, Anya is kind of back from the dead, and everything ends with the Scooby Gang forming a new Magic Council, which includes Dracula.

Angel & Faith continues with the return of a lot of other familiar faces. Fred/Illyria is not actually dead after the destruction of magic as previously thought. The witch Amy has a bone to pick still being sour over the events of Season Eight’s destruction of magic. Kennedy has a Slayer bodyguard corporation that she formed after the end of Season Eight that Faith tries out, but quits when she hears that Riley is captive. After that is resolved, Illyria is finally separated from Fred. Faith and Fred kind of become buddy detectives for a bit before the story starts revealing the new big bad of Archaeus. His schemes threaten the stability of London’s Magic Town, so it’s up to our heroes to put a stop to it.


Whew. That was a lot, and I’m sure we missed some things, but you should be up to speed to start reading both Season 11 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel. Luckily, we have all the collections of Seasons 8-10 available, so get them all for 10%-40% off, as well as every single issue of the new series’ still in stock, so you won’t have to miss a beat.

Please follow and like us: